Header image  
Keeping Good Music Alive logo

Balance was an early 1980s pop rock group based out of New York City and fronted by Illinois native, Peppy Castro, formerly of Blues Magoos. Other members included guitarist Bob Kulick, arranger and keyboardist Doug Katsaros, drummer Chuck Burgi, and bassist Dennis Feldman.

The group's most noteworthy hit was 1981's "Breaking Away". The song peaked at #22 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. An incredibly naff pop song with a Latin beat, it managed to include some nifty guitar work from Kulick, thereby anchoring the band in the soft-rock tradition. Their second album, In For The Count, was much heavier. However, Peppy Castro's pop vocals while differentiating Balance from so many other heavy metal wannabes, rendered their music a little camp and vageuly Las Vegas. The best song on the album, "Slow Motion", was incredibly poppy, and confused hard rock fans.

Castro, Katsaros, Burgi, and Feldman would later reunite (along with Bob Kulick's younger brother, Bruce) when they all appeared on Michael Bolton's 1985 melodic hard rock album, Everybody's Crazy.

balance in for the count    

Balance / In For The Count

  1. (Looking For The) Magic
  2. I’m Through Loving You
  3. Breaking Away
  4. No Getting Around My Love
  5. Fly Through The Night
  6. American Dream
  7. Haunting
  8. Falling In Love
  9. Hot Summer Nights
  10. It’s So Strange
  11. In For The Count
  12. Is It Over
  13. Slow Motion
  14. Undercover Man
  15. On My Honor
  16. All The Way
  17. Pull The Plug
  18. Bedroom Eyes
  19. We Can Have It All