Header image  
Keeping Good Music Alive logo
Rick Springfield

Rick Springfield (born Richard Lewis Springthorpe; 23 August 1949) is an Australian musician, singer-songwriter, and actor. He was a member of pop rock group Zoot from 1969 to 1971 and then started his solo career with his début single "Speak to the Sky" reaching the top 10 in Australia. In mid-1972, he relocated to the United States. He had a No. 1 hit with "Jessie's Girl" in 1981 in both Australia and the US. He received the Grammy Award for Best Male Rock Vocal Performance for "Jessie's Girl". He followed with four more top 10 US hits, "I've Done Everything for You", "Don't Talk to Strangers", "Affair of the Heart" and "Love Somebody". His two US top 10 albums are Working Class Dog (1981) and Success Hasn't Spoiled Me Yet (1982). As an actor, he portrayed Dr.Noah Drake on the daytime drama General Hospital, from 1981 to 1983 and during 2005 to 2008 and 2012, returning in 2013 for the shows 50th anniversary with son/actor Liam Springthorpe. In 2010, Springfield published his autobiography, Late, Late at Night: A Memoir.

From September 1972 to September of 1973, he starred as "himself" in the ABC-TV Saturday morning cartoon series Mission: Magic!, for which he usually wrote and performed an original song in each episode. In 1974, Springfield issued an Australia-only album, Mission: Magic! which was "full of infectious bubblegum pop songs". His single, "Take a Hand", reached the US top 50 in 1976 and was from the album Wait for Night, which was issued by his new label Chelsea Records.



1. Welcome To The Rodeo
2. Just Gonna Sing
3. I Want You
4. If We Help One Another
5. Starlight, Starbright
6. Catch Me If You Can
7. Theme From Mission Magic
8. We’re Gonna Have A Good Time
9. It’s Driving Me Crazy
10. Free And Easy
11. You Really Can Do It
12. The Other Side
13. I Know That It’s Magic
14. You Can’t Judge A Book
15. Love Is The Key
16. You’d Better Think Twice
17. Take A Hand
18. Speak To The Sky