Header image  
Keeping Good Music Alive logo
Ton Scherpenzeel

Ton Scherpenzeel (HilversumNetherlands 6 August 1952) is a keyboardist and a founding member of the Dutch rock band Kayak, together with Pim Koopman and Max Werner whom he met whilst at the Hilversum Muziek Lyceum (Hilversum College of Music).

His first solo album (1978) was an adaptation of Le carnaval des animaux by French classical music composer Camille Saint-Saëns. In 1980, Ton wrote the score for the Dutch movie Spetters, featuring Rutger Hauer. His second solo album, Heart of the Universe (withChris Rainbow), came in 1984 and is a combination of instrumental and vocal tracks.

Subsequent to Kayak, Ton became the keyboardist of Camel, a British band. He also played several years with Earth and Fire. He also wrote almost all music for the songs in the shows of Dutch comedian Youp van 't Hek.

In 1991 Scherpenzeel released his third solo album Virgin Grounds, under the pseudonym Orion. In 1998 he played a synth solo on the song "Cosmic Fusion", from Ayreon's album Into the Electric Castle, a rock opera on which Edward Reekers, also of Kayak, played one of the main roles. In 2013 he released his fourth solo CD, The Lion's Dream.

Scherpenzeel has a notable fear of flying, that has limited his touring to the European continent.


The Lion's Dream

  1. The Cycle
  2. From The Throne To The Scaffold
  3. Paying The Piper
  4. Woe And Alas
  5. The Lion's Dream
  6. Ayre
  7. Relics From A Distant Age
  8. Jest Of Fools
  9. Lost Horizons
  10. Dead Bird Flies Forever
  11. Under Siege
  12. Shield Of Love
  13. Gryphons ANd Unicorns
  14. Pase El Agoa
  15. Sanctuary