Header image  
Keeping Good Music Alive logo

Tycoon was an American rock band from New York City. The group released two records on Arista Records and charted one Top 40 hit single in 1979, "Such a Woman" (U.S. Billboard Hot 100 #26). Their 1981 album, Turn Out the Lights, was produced by Vini Poncia.

1979 was a very good year. Or so Norman Mershon and Mark Kreider would say. That was the year that they had a Top 40 hit with the song, Such a Woman. From that point on, it all kind of went down hill. Clive Davis started screwing with their sound and the next thing they knew, they were without a label. By the time they figured out which way was up, New Wave had taken over the minds of the big labels and Tycoon was left out in the cold. Always perceived as a Foreigner copy-cat (which they were not), Tycoon went off to record their third album without the help of a major label.

Norman Mershon died from liver disease on November 9, 2007.

tycoon tycoon2    


  1. Such A Woman
  2. Slow Down Boy
  3. Out In The Cold
  4. Don’t You Cry No More
  5. Too Late
  6. The Way That It Goes
  7. Don’t Worry
  8. How Long
  9. Drunken Sailor
  10. Count On Me
  11. One More Try
  12. Walkin’ The Line
  13. Hang On In
  14. Love You ‘Til It Hurts
  15. Yes Men
  16. This Island Earth
  17. Over My Head
  18. Turn Out The Lights